Barbara Rauch Contact Number


SHSAT – Specialized High School Admissions Test

This test is a highly competitive difficult exam that tests a higher level of thinking. It is recommended for students who have a 90+ average in 7th grade and have scored a level four on both their 6th and 7th grade NYS ELA and MATH exams. Our course is given in conjunction with our TACHS exam.

The SHSAT is usually given the end of October of 8th grade. The test consists of two major sections – verbal and math.

  • Verbal – three parts, 50 points
  • Scrambled Paragraphs – 5 questions – worth 2 points each
  • Logical Reasoning – 10 questions
  • Reading Comprehension – 30 questions
  • Mathematics – 50 multiple questions covering a range of topics